How Many Asian Teams Are in the World Cup?

The Asian qualifiers for the FIFA World Cup 2022 is not yet through, but unlike its European counterpart, the AFC has its own format in the qualification process of selecting the Asian teams that will proceed to the next round of the competition.

Forty teams in Asia were selected to compete in the second round of the AFC qualifiers. They were divided into eight groups consisting of five teams to compete in a round-robin format.

These teams are the national team of Qatar’s World Cup host country next year. Let’s take a look at each group and who made it into the next round.

Group A

The Group A of AFC qualifiers consists of national teams of Syria, China PR, Philippines, Maldives, Guam. Both the national teams of China PR and Syria made it into the next round of the competition.

Group B

Group B was made out of national squads of Australia, Kuwait, Jordan, Nepal, Chinese Taipei. The national team that made it to the third round of the qualifiers is Australia, albeit technically not a country in Asia.

Group C

The C group is divided into Iran, Iraq, Bahrain, Hong Kong, and  Cambodia teams. Both the national football teams of Iran and Iraq proceeded to the next round of the competition.

Group D

Group D consists of Saudi Arabia, Uzbekistan, Palestine, Singapore, and Yemen national football teams. The representatives from Saudi Arabia made it into the third round of qualifiers for the World Cup.

Group E

The Group A of Asian qualifiers is composed of teams of Qatar, Oman, India, Afghanistan, Bangladesh. Two teams have made it into the next tournament round, Oman and Qatar. Qatar is automatically qualified for the final competition because they are the host nation for this edition of the World Cup.

Group F

Group F consists of national teams from Japan, Tajikistan, Kyrgyzstan, Mongolia, and Myanmar. The only nation set to proceed to the third round of qualifiers in Japan is the leading team in the AFC Asian Qualifiers.

Group G

The G Group is divided into the national teams of United Arab Emirates, Vietnam, Malaysia, Thailand, and Indonesia. The national side of the United Arab Emirates made it into the next round of the tournament.

Group H

Group H of AFC Asian Qualifiers comprises national teams of South Korea, Lebanon, Turkmenistan, Sri Lanka and North Korea. However, due to the increasing number of coronavirus cases, North Korea withdrew to the qualification round of the competition for safety concerns.

The national football team of South Korea will proceed to the third round of the AFC Asian qualifiers.

The third round consists of several homes and away matches in a round-robin format. The 12 winners from each group will compete, and they will be divided into team Yemen and Group B.

Each of the two groups consists of six teams, while the winners and runners up from each group will automatically proceed to the final competition of the FIFA World Cup along with qualified teams from other confederations.


So far, the AFC Asian Qualifiers for the 2022 FIFA World Cup are a tight competition. From a pool of forty Asian teams, it will all come down to a few who will proceed to the final tournament of the World Cup.

Despite the World Cup being dominated by football teams from Europe and South America, the Asian national teams are also a force to reckon with. They only need the right platform to showcase their skills and football prowess.

Latest Post


Similar Prodcuts

Related post


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here